The Beginning of my Writer’s Journey

I don’t often blog about my writing, preferring to focus on classic mysteries and authors who have influenced me through the years.

My journey as a writer began fifteen years ago when I started my first novel, Class of ’68. I became serious about my writing when I began my second novel, Try and Catch the Wind, focusing my writing on the kind of mysteries that I enjoy reading, suspense, humor and a touch of romance.

Try and Catch the Wind, follows former NYPD homicide detective, Casey Bannister, who’s adjusting to the loss of his wife Rachel from cancer and to life in a small town in upstate New York in a house Rachel had picked out for their retirement.

He’s used to being in the line of fire. But his wife’s death has left former New York City police detective Casey Bannister shattered by memories. And the small upstate town where he’s taken refuge proves no safe place when a young woman’s body is found in the wood chipper. Casey is finding one unnerving clue after another that a ruthless serial killer is at work and growing more uncatchable by the minute…

His reluctant investigation puts him at odds with the local sheriff–and brings him closer to a woman he never forgot, state investigator Shannon Danzinger. As suspects multiply and sinister secrets roil the close-knit town, a predator is fueled by obsession can’t wait for Casey to follow a carefully laid trail into a horrifying past–and become the ultimate prey.

Of all my novels to date, I receive the most positive praise about my character Casey Bannister, tough, sensitive, sarcastic and devoted to doing what’s right.

The re-release of Try and Catch the Wind

Try and Catch the Wind was first published by Wings ePress in 2007, followed by two books in the series that many of you have read. I’m excited the novel is being reissued by Harlequin and is available now!

Take a quick peek at the novel and read a free excerpt. Let me know what you think.

It’s a busy time for me. In August, Random House Alibi will release my latest mystery, The Yankee Club, a Prohibition-era novel, the first in a four-book series that will be published over the next two years.Yankee Club with the rose crop 4

The following two tabs change content below.
Longtime Arizona resident and full time writer of novels with a touch of tenderness, a splash of mystery and plenty of laughs.

Latest posts by Michael Murphy (see all)


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: